Thursday, June 13, 2024

114 West Elm Street
Graham, NC 27253
Ph: 336.228.7851

Re-elected and new officials sworn in Monday

Local officials were sworn in to their respective offices Monday, beginning with commissioners Craig Turner and Steve Carter (pictured below) who took their oaths of office on Monday morning, flanked by their significant others Julie Hancock and Judy Carter.

Carter, who has served on the board of commissioners since 2018, and Turner, who was appointed to a vacant commissioner’s seat in 2021, had both won additional four-year terms on the county’s governing board in November’s general election. Carter was also re-elected as the board’s vice chairman.

Joined by Tavores Vanhook, Donna Vanhook also took her oath of office as the county’s newest soil and water conservation supervisor. Vanhook had snagged one of the two soil and water conservation posts that were up for grabs in November. District court judge Larry Brown, who swore her in, reaches out to congratulate her (below).

- Advertisement -

Later, Alamance County’s sheriff Terry Johnson was joined by his wife Pat were at the Lamb’s Chapel on Monday afternoon when he was formally sworn in for his sixth term by Paul Newby, the chief justice of North Carolina’s supreme court.

Newby also did the honors when Meredith Edwards, the county’s clerk of superior court, took her oath of office that same afternoon in the company of her husband Ben, a member of Graham’s municipal police force, and the couple’s four children.

The couple’s twin girls provided much entertainment for the audience as they attempted to “assist” with the swearing in.


And Monday night, Alamance County superior court judge Andrew (“Andy”) Hanford, shown at far left (in photo below), delivered the oath of office to the three new Alamance-Burlington school board members who were elected last month.

Pictured left to right, the three new school board members are: Dr. Charles Parker of Mebane; Dan Ingle of Elon; and Chuck Marsh, also of Elon.

Must Read